Posted by: Jimely Flores | August 2, 2013

One morning to Mangagoy

I went to Tagum City Terminal at 0815H and waited for an hour and a half for the aircon bus bound for Mati but everytime i asked the bus despatcher what time does the bus arrives, the answer is a constant ‘soon.’
Observing the flow of buses, the Butuan bound seemed to be always arriving. Being aware that time is limited and i may still need to go to Agusan del Sur, I decided to forego Mati and go to Bislig City instead. So I immediately boarded the bus bound for Butuan and told the ‘conductor’ that Trento is my disembarkation terminal. Tagum to Trento costs Php140.00 and travel time is around 2-hours +30 minutes if the bus will eat lunch in Monkayo (Tagum-Nabunturan about 30min., Nabunturan-Montevista about 25minutes, Montevista-Monkayo about 20 minutes, Monkayo-Trento about 70minutes inluding lunch time).
In Trento I waited for the Mangagoy/Cateel bound non aircon bus. Travel is very uncomfortable but we reached Mangagoy after about 1.5 hour. Being a naturalist, I always let my being be absorb by the sights and the green and brown colors of the lands we are passing and that is keeping me relax easing the travel pains of hard bench, heat and the compounds of smell.
Its my first time to come to Bislig and the adventurer in me is primed up to the core. Purpose of my travel is to document the juvenile tuna fisheries of the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

Categories

