Posted by: Jimely Flores | January 12, 2014

Paying forward-my way

I came from a poor family. Without the full scholarship granted to me by the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources in college, I may not have taken and graduated in fisheries. By the twist of fate, from a farmland lass who dreamed to fly, she ended sailing through the waves. I was that lass.

I fully enjoyed the adventure of sailing through the crests and troughs of fisheries education, fisheries extraction and finally fisheries conservation.

Soon I will expire. The best way I could show my full appreciation to this very fulfilled life, is to pay forward. Paying forward is to help in the advocacy of fishery resources conservation balance with extraction. This is a duty I owe to the next generation of Pilipinos (the unborn), that they would be given the chance to enjoy and benefit from the rich fishery resources of their country.

It is a hard task but I know I am not alone. Most Pilipinos are willing to take the stand. Truthful and responsible story tellers are therefore needed. I have taken that role since I started working and I will continue to do so, through all media possible, until the flame of life in me dies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

